Freezer Cooking

I am open and honest about the fact that I don’t cook during the week.  Nope.  No cooking! I have a toddler and I commute.  My husband is gone 3 nights a week and that means, drive thru….just kidding! That means crock pot or oven ready meals!

This idea came to me last year when we were (pleasantly) surprised to find our team in the state semifinals (go Eagles), but I also found myself stressed with a baby and NO patience left…this was with my mom at my house helping!

This year, I  picked 15 recipes and made 4 of each. I did it this way so that I could buy in bulk as well as cook in bulk. I personally find it easier to cook four of the same thing all at once than four different meals all at once.  I chose one or two a week and just started to freeze.

This plan makes 60 meals (15 weeks of Monday – Thursday meals).  I chose meals that I could easily reheat in the microwave, crock pot or oven – NO STOVE, because at that point, I could just be cooking.

A note on freezing: using a cookie sheet in the freezer allows you to freeze bags FLAT and saves a lot of room if you don’t have a deep freeze.  I am looking into buying some magazine files to store frozen bags upright in the freezer.

Without further ado, here are the recipes:

  1. Enchiladas
  2. Burritos – my recipe
  3. Sloppy Joes
  4. Calzones
  5. Chili
  6. Lasagna Rolls (I am stuffing shells instead of using rolls) – these freeze great if you flash freeze them 🙂
  7. Meatballs – the sauce is amazing, but it is not diet food! I usually serve over spaghetti squash with store bought marinara or make them into meatball sandwiches.  They thaw in a pan of sauce on the stovetop.  If you have surprise guests (this happens to me a lot) or an impromptu party, the sauce whips up pretty quickly and meatballs can be warmed in the oven.
  8. Fajitas –  my recipe
  9. Lettuce Wraps
  10. Taco Skillet – this is NOT diet food 🙂 – you have been warned
  11. Chicken Broccoli Quinoa Casserole – use ricotta, otherwise its watery
  12. Chicken Noodle Soup – hint – freeze leftovers (no noodles) in mason jars (¾ full). It can go straight in the microwave on defrost and is a perfect lunch.  You could bring it to school with a salad in a mason jar, too.  People would whisper “wow, she’s so Pinterest-y”
  13. Chicken Tacos –my recipe
  14. Italian Vegetable and Sausage Soup – my recipe
  15. Grilled Chicken Breast (to be used on salad, with pasta, in a quesadilla, as a sandwich, etc)

Update

I ended up trading out a few meals in the interest of time. These are the recipes I added:

  1. Beef and Mushrooms
  2. Balsamic Pork Roast
  3. Honey Garlic Chicken
2 comments

  1. Thanks for trying out my Broccoli Chicken Quinoa Casserole (#11)! When did you find it to be watery? When you defrosted it? I have never tried freezing the recipe, so I appreciate the info!

    Like

    • missfinn16 · August 28, 2015

      I think it was the cheese I used. I didn’t drain the cottage cheese so it wasn’t the consistency I was expecting. It was a delicious alternative to traditional chicken and rice.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

